FREE USPS SHIPPING on orders over $49 *
Sign Up

With Reverence and Awe

Returning to the Basics of Reformed Worship

Direct Price: $14.99 $11.50
Format: Paperback
Pages: 205
ISBN: 9780875521794

+ Cart


"Reformed Christians," write D. G. Hart and John R. Muether, "are increasingly divided over how they ought to worship their God," a situation they regard as urgent. Drawing on Scripture and Reformed confessions and catechisms, the authors answer such questions as these:

—When are we to worship?
—How does the regulative principle guide our worship?
—How does the dialogical principle shape our worship?
—How do we worship with reverence and joy?
—What is the place of the means of grace?
—How do the elements of worship differ from its circumstances?

Finally the authors tackle "the most divisive issue"—music.


"This is a good book, which ought to be read by every believer who wishes to engage in worship that is pleasing to God because it is worship that is in harmony with God's will as revealed in the inspired, infalliable Scriptures."

Robert D. Decker


The Authors

John R. Muether

John R. Muether

John R. Muether (MAR, Westminster Theological Seminary) is librarian and associate professor of church history at Reformed Theological Seminary in Orlando. The coauthor of four volumes, Muether has served on the Harvard Divinity School library staff and has been librarian at Western Theological Seminary and Westminster Theological Seminary. He has served on the editorial board of Regeneration Quarterly and on the board of directors of Mars Hill Audio. He is historian of the Orthodox Presbyterian Church and serves on that denomination’s Christian Education Committee.

D.G. Hart

D.G. Hart

D. G. Hart studied American history at the Johns Hopkins University and has served as director of the Institute for the Study of American Evangelicals at Wheaton College and academic dean and professor of church history at Westminster Seminary in California. He is currently visiting assistant professor of history at Hillsdale College.

More by D.G. Hart